Urbanisation et transformation du monde rurale

landscape-589361_1280

Urbanisation, transformation du monde rural et implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et de nutrition

Coordinateurs:

Elene Shatberashvili – Biological Farmer Association Elkana/LVC

Kuria Gathuru – Mazingira Institute/Habitat International Coalition

Facilitateurs techniques:

Emily Mattheisen – FIAN

Imogen Ebsworth – Australia Food Sovereignty Alliance

Pour voir la liste complète des membres du Groupe de travail cliquez ici

Pour rejoindre le groupe de travail s’il vous plaît écrire au Secrétariat du MSC au cso4cfs@gmail.com

Président du GTCNL du CSA:

Ambassador Hans Hoogeveen (Les Pays-Bas)

Contexte

Le Groupe de travail du MSC sur l’urbanisation, transformation du monde rurale et implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition a été créé en Janvier 2016, avec la tâche d’élaborer la position des OSC sur ce nouveau sujet de l’ agenda politique du CSA pour le prochain exercice biennal 2016-2017 . S’il vous plaît trouver ci-dessous un extrait du PTPA approuvé lors de la 42e CFS session plénière en Octobre à 2015.

Extrait du PTPA 2016-2017 approuvè par le CSA 42:

Forum du CSA sur l’urbanisation, la transformation rurale et leurs incidences sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition – 2016-2017

  1. L’urbanisation rapide, la transformation de l’agriculture, les systèmes alimentaires et l’espace rural posent de nouveaux problèmes au développement durable, mais cette évolution crée également de nouvelles possibilités, notamment en ce qui concerne la croissance pour tous, l’élimination de la pauvreté, la viabilité économique, environnementale et sociale, le soutien des systèmes et des marchés alimentaires locaux, la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. Ces processus interdépendants modifient la nature des problèmes qui nuisent traditionnellement à la sécurité alimentaire et à la nutrition et ont une incidence sur les inégalités de revenus, la vulnérabilité et l’exclusion. D’où la nécessité d’élaborer des politiques pour renforcer la cohérence entre l’agriculture, la sécurité alimentaire, la nutrition et le développement rural dans son ensemble et les objectifs et mesures de protection sociale.
  2. Cet axe de travail, qui s’appuie sur les conclusions des précédents rapports du Groupe d’experts de haut niveau et des débats ultérieurs, vise à recenser les principaux domaines susceptibles d’être intégrés dans les politiques afin de faire face aux menaces découlant du processus d’urbanisation et de transformation rurale et d’exploiter les opportunités qui en découlent.
  3. Un Forum du SCA aura lieu pendant, ou immédiatement avant ou après, la quarante- troisième session du Comité qui se tiendra en octobre 2016, afin de parvenir à une meilleure compréhension des enjeux et de recenser les domaines d’intervention et les rôles possibles du CSA.
  4. Les résultats et réalisations du Forum seront examinés et analysés par des participants du CSA au sein d’un groupe de travail ponctuel à composition non limitée qui travaillera une ou deux journées selon les besoins, en vue de recenser les enjeux et les approches sur les politiques qui pourraient contribuer à surmonter les contraintes existantes. Les résultats de ce travail seront présentés pour approbation à la quarante-quatrième session du CSA en 2017.

 

Processus 2017

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural
Read more

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural (un jour)
Read more

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural

GTCNL sur l'urbanisation et la transformation rural (deux jours)
Read more

CSA 44 Résultats de la Séance Plénière – 13 Octobre 2017

Intervention de Elene Shatberashvili, Biological Farmer Association Elkana/LVC, Géorgie, au nom du Groupe de travail du MSC sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rurale 

Nous sommes convaincus que le CSA, en sa qualité d’organe global travaillant sur les questions en lien avec les systèmes alimentaires et la nutrition sur la base d’une approche fondée sur les droits humains, est le meilleur endroit pour discuter de l’urbanisation et de la transformation rurale d’une manière holistique, du point de vue des approches territoriales et en dépassant les dichotomies rural-urbain. En ce sens, il est fondamental de tenir compte du potentiel des systèmes alimentaires agroécologiques à créer un espace pouvant offrir des opportunités d’emploi pour les jeunes et les femmes, y compris la résilience au changement climatique, l’utilisation des connaissances traditionnelles et la biodiversité agricole, en donnant plus d’espace aux innovation des peuples et à la production autonome.

Cependant, nous devons également tenir compte du fait que, si les institutions onusiennes ont un rôle important à jouer dans le partage des connaissances, elles ne sont pas les seules à produire des connaissances et des solutions. Il est en ce sens particulièrement important de s’appuyer sur les connaissances de la base, qui doit être considérée non seulement comme les récepteurs des « connaissances modernes », mais aussi comme des acteurs contribuant et définissant aussi bien les problèmes que les solutions. Continue le lire…

Intervention de Nadjirou Sall, ROPPA, Senegal, au nom du Groupe de travail du MSC sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rurale 

Nous avons déjà indiqué que nous ne sommes pas à l’aise avec cette méthodologie. Nous n’aurions aucun problème à présenter l’une de nos expériences si cela nous est demandé en temps voulu. Je suis paysan et agropasteur au Sénégal, membre du ROPPA (Réseau des organisations paysannes et de producteurs de l’Afrique de l’Ouest) qui a est quant à lui membre de la PAFO. Je dois préciser que la PAFO n’est pas membre de l’OMA (en vertu d’une décision prise en février 2017). Deux thèmes ont été sélectionnés pour cet axe de travail ; nous devrions maintenant voir comment y contribuer sur la base des différentes expériences existantes. Nous sommes inquiets car nous sommes en train de perdre le contrôle de nos ressources de base, telles que la terre. Continue le lire…

Intervention de Emily Mattheisen, FIAN, Allemagne, au nom du Groupe de travail du MSC sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rurale 

Je souhaiterais tout d’abord commencer par clarifier la préoccupation que nous avons exprimée précédemment ; nos déclarations en apparence ennuyeuses sont le fruit d’un long processus de consultation.

  • Les secteurs urbain et rural sont traditionnellement considérés de manière séparée, au détriment des zones rurales. L’urbanisation est le fruit de politiques qui privilégient les zones urbaines et pénalisent les économies rurales, engendrant la détérioration des espaces ruraux (avec un exode rural accéléré, par exemple). Cette fragmentation tend à se maintenir dans les ODD et Habitat III. Le CSA est l’espace légitime dans lequel dépasser cette dichotomie, en utilisant comme points d’entrée la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition et les systèmes alimentaires durables.
    • Les causes profondes, les spécificités régionales, les solutions localisées pour le changement intergénérationnel dans l’agriculture et l’abandon des zones rurales par les jeunes, qui deviennent une tendance irréparable, inadmissible qui affecte le futur des systèmes alimentaires durables ; Continue le lire…

Intervention de Christiane Costa, HIC, Brésil, au nom du Groupe de travail du MSC sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rurale 

Depuis la perspective des approches territoriales, qui prétendent dépasser la dichotomie rural-urbain, qui constitue l’une des causes de l’insécurité alimentaire aussi bien en milieu rural qu’urbain, il est particulièrement important d’examiner de près des thèmes tels que :

  • L’identification des stratégies abordant le territoire de manière intégrée. Les économies solidaires et l’agriculture soutenue par la communauté constituent une part importante des systèmes alimentaires territoriaux inclusifs qui peuvent contribuer de manière substantielle à garantir un accès inclusif d’un point de vue social à des fruits et légumes frais qui contribuent à la santé humaine. Un exemple positif sont les systèmes de sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle au Brésil, selon lesquels les producteurs locaux à petite échelle participent activement au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques à travers les Conseils de politique alimentaire tout en fournissant des aliments nutritifs, locaux et à faible impact écologique aux personnes les plus vulnérables, par exemple, les habitants des dénommés déserts alimentaires des villes. Il s’agit là d’un exemple de bonne gouvernance de l’alimentation, basée sur les circuits courts de production et de consommation, ce qui constitue selon nous d’un élément de base pour promouvoir la sécurité alimentaire, selon les principes de la durabilité et les droits humains. Continue le lire…

Séance Plénière du CSA – 9/13 Octobre 2017

20 Juillet 2017

Réunion du Groupe Consultatif et Bureau du CSA

11 Juillet 2017

Reunion extraordinaire du GTCNL sur  l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rural

Documents de contexte seulement disponibles en anglais:

23 Juin 2017

Réunion du GTCNL sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rural

Le GTCNL se concentrera sur: a) Présentation par les membres de l’équipe technique spéciale du document de contexte et de la discussion; B) Discussion et accord sur la proposition du PTPA pour ce axe de travail; C) Discussion et accord sur le projet de cadre de décision pour la session plénière du CFS 44.

Documents de contexte:

16 Juin 2017

Réunion informelle du GTCNL sur l’Urbanisation et la transformation du monde rural

Cette consultation informelle vise à commencer à échanger des commentaires préliminaires à la fois sur le document et sur la portée, les objectifs, les résultats et les processus prévus pour ce axe de travail au cours du prochain exercice biennal.

Lien pour suivre la réunion: http://www.fao.org/webcast/en/ 

Documents de contexte: 

Mai 2017

La Présidence du GTCNL sur l’urbanisation et la transformation rurale a diffusé le document intitulé S’attaquer à la sécurité alimentaire et à la nutrition dans le contexte de l’évolution de la dynamique rural-urbaine: expériences et approches politiques efficaces ainsi que ses annexes . Ce document a été préparé par l’équipe technique à la suite de l’Appel lors du Forum FSN (les versions traduites seront disponibles à partir du 2 juin). Ce document présente une sélection d’expériences et d’approches politiques qui identifient certains messages clés concernant la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition dans le contexte de l’évolution de la dynamique rurale-urbaine. En plus d’informer les acteurs du CSA, le document cherche également à stimuler de nouvelles discussions sur la gouvernance, les liens entre les zones rurales et urbaines, les systèmes alimentaires durables et le rôle que le CSA pourrait jouer à l’avenir. La Présidence du GTCNL a convoqué une consultation informelle le vendredi 16 juin consacrée à cette Note, afin de commencer à échanger des commentaires préliminaires sur le document mais aussi sur la portée, les objectifs, les résultats et les processus prévus pour ce cycle de travail au cours du prochain exercice biennal.   Cela permettra de mieux préparer la réunion du 23 novembre du GTCNL et de consolider les contributions au processus PTPA 2018-19.

Février 2017

Appel à Contribuions sur les mutations en cours dans les dynamiques rurales-urbaines!

3 Février 2017

GTCNL du CSA sur l’Urbanisation, la transformation du monde rurale et les implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et nutrition

La Réunion sera diffuse ici: http://www.fao.org/webcast/en/ dans les six langues de Nations Unies

Message du Président du GTCNL Hans Hoogeveen (seulement disponible en anglais):

As per the attached agenda, the main objective of the meeting is to discuss and agree on the content of the draft call for submissions and draft submission template aimed at soliciting experiences and effective policy approaches in addressing food security and nutrition in the context of changing urban-rural dynamics. The call will be launched on the FSN Forum starting February 7th until March 15th 2017. The meeting will also provide an opportunity to discuss next steps in the process including expectations around the format and desired outcome of the OEWG meeting on 23 June. In discussing the proposed approach the Technical Task Team focused its discussions on the following key points, which you will find reflected in the attached draft call and submission template document:

– The need to keep rural-urban linkages as the primary focus for the experiences and policy approaches, with four additional thematic areas acting as additional filters;

– The importance of including social and economic equity issues (in addition to governance, sustainability and food systems) as a means to capture the vulnerable and marginalized individuals and groups dimension;

– The need to have criteria that would not only allow us to stay on topic (focus on rural-urban linkages, impact/relevance to food security and nutrition) but also to capture elements related to process, change and innovation in policy making, equity and coherence with human rights frameworks;

– The need to keep the submission template simple and relatively “open” so as to encourage a large number of submissions from a wide variety of stakeholders.

Documents de contexte: (seulement disponible en anglais):


2 Décembre 2016

GTCNL du CSA sur l’Urbanisation, la transformation du monde rurale et les implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et nutrition

Documents de contexte (seulement disponible en anglais):

Processus 2016

Premier Atelier Technique du CSA

Le 22 et 23 de Février aura lieu le premier Atelier Technique du CSA sur l'Urbanisation, la transformation rurale et les implications en termes de securité alimentaire et nutrition (Iran Room, FAO)
Read more

Avant-Projet du Document de Contexte

Le Secrétariat du CSA publie l'Avant-Projet du Document de contexte en ligne
Read more

Date limite pour les commentaires sur l'Avant-Projet

Date limite pour soumettre les commentaires des OSC sur l'Avant-Projet
Read more

Le nouveau projet sera publié

Le 29 de avril le Secrétariat du CSA publiera le nouveau version du projet du Document de Contexte, que sera elaboré sur la base des commentaires reçu du consultation en ligne
Read more

Deuxième Atelier Technique du CSA

Le 7 de Juin aura lieu le deuxième atelier technique du CSA
Read more

Octobre 2016

8 Juillet 2016

Réunion du Bureau et Groupe Consultatif du CSA

7 Juin 2016

2me Atelier technique sur l’Urbanisation, transformation du monde rural et implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et de nutrition (Documents disponibles seulement en anglais)

Read CSM Speaking Points

Read the Outcomes

Mai 2016

Projet du Document de contexte pour la discussion du Forum du CSA 43 (Seulement disponible en anglais)

Mars/Avril 2016

L’avant-projet du Document de contexte pour la discussion du Forum du CSA 43 est disponible seulement en anglais. Zero Draft of the Background Paper

Lire les commentaires préliminaires du groupe de travail du MSC sur l’avant-projet

22/23 Février 2016

Atelier technique sur l’Urbanisation, transformation du monde rurale et implications en termes de sécurité alimentaire et de nutrition

A) Ordre du Jour

B) Liste des participants

C) Note d’orientation

Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

landscape-589361_1280

Urbanisation, Rural Transformation and implications for food Security and Nutrition

Coordinators:

Elene Shatberashvili – Biological Farmer Association Elkana/LVC

Kuria Gathuru – Mazingira Institute/Habitat International Coalition

Technical Facilitators:

Emily Mattheisen – FIAN

Imogen Ebsworth – Australia Food Sovereignty Alliance

To see the full list of members of the Working Group please click here

To join the Working Group please write to the CSM Secretariat at cso4cfs@gmail.com

Chair of the CFS OEWG:

Ambassador Hans Hoogeveen (The Netherlands)

Background

The CSM Working Group on Urbanization, Rural Transformation and implications for food security and nutrition was established in January 2016 with the task to elaborate the CSOs position on this new topic of the CFS Policy Agenda for the next biennium 2016-2017. Please find below an extract from the MYPoW endorsed at the 42nd CFS Plenary Session in October 2015.

Extract from the MYPOW 2016-2017 endorsed at CFS 42:

CFS Forum on Urbanization, rural transformation and implications for food security and nutrition – 2016-2017

  1. Rapid urbanization and the transformation of agriculture, the food systems and the rural space are creating new challenges as well as opportunities for inclusive growth, poverty eradication, economic, environmental and social sustainability, support of local food systems and economies, and food security and nutrition. Those interlinked processes are changing the traditional challenges for food security and nutrition with impacts in terms of income inequalities, vulnerability and exclusion. Efforts are required at policy level to find coherence between agriculture, food security and nutrition and the broader rural development and social protection objectives and actions.
  2. This workstream builds on outcomes of previous HLPE Reports and subsequent debates and intends to identify key areas for policy attention to deal with threats and opportunities arising from urbanization and rural transformation processes:
  3. CFS Forum will be held during or back-to-back to CFS 43 in October 2016. The objective would be to reach better understanding of the issues at stake and identify areas of intervention and possible CFS roles
  4. Following the Forum, its outcomes and results will be reviewed and analysed by CFS participants in one-off open ended working group format of one or two days according to the needs with a view to identifying challenges and policy approaches that would contribute to overcoming existing constraints. The results of this work will be presented for endorsement at CFS 44 in 2017.

Process 2016-2017

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation
Read more

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation (One Day)
Read more

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation (Two Days)
Read more

 

CFS 44 Plenary Session Outcomes – 13 October 2017

Intervention of Elene Shatberashvili, Biological Farmer Association Elkana/LVC, Georgia, on behalf of the CSM Working Group on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation 

We strongly believe that the CFS as the overarching body working across the food systems and nutrition based on the human rights approach is the best place to discuss urbanization and rural transformation in a holistic way, from the point of view of territorial approaches and overcoming rural-urban dichotomies. In this sense, it is fundamental to take into account the potential of agro ecological food systems in creating a space for youth & women employment opportunities, including resilience to climate change, use of traditional knowledge and agricultural biodiversity, giving more space for peoples innovations and autonomous production.

However, we also have to take into account, that while the UN institutions have an important role in knowledge sharing, they are not the only producers of knowledge and solutions. In this sense it is especially important to build on the knowledge from the grassroots, which have to be considered not only as the recipients of the “modern knowledge”, but the contributors and definers of both problems and solutions. Keep reading…

Intervention of Nadjirou Sall, ROPPA, Senegal, on behalf of the CSM Working Group on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation 

We already said we are not comfortable with this methodology. We wouldn’t have problem to present one of our experiences if requested at due time. I am a farmer and livestock keeper from Senegal, member of Roppa (network of peasant organisation and agricultural producers from West Africa) which, in turn is member of PAFO. I have to specify that PAFO is not member of the WFO (by decision taken in Feb 2017). We have two themes selected for this workstream, now we should see how to feed them with the different existing experiences. We are worried because we are losing the control over our basic resources, as land. Keep reading…

Intervention of Emily Mattheisen, FIAN, Germany, on behalf of the CSM Working Group on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation 

I first to start up by clarifying our previous unease; our seemingly boring statements come from a long process of consultations.

Urban/rural sectors have traditionally been treated separately, to the detriment of rural areas. Urbanisation has been driven by policies that have privileged urban areas and penalized rural economies, leading to deterioration of rural spaces (such as accelerated exodus from rural areas). This fragmentation tends to be perpetuated in the SDGs and Habitat III. CFS is the legitimate space in which to overcome this dichotomy, using food security and nutrition and sustainable food systems as the entry point.

  • The root causes, regional specificities and localized solutions for intergenerational change in agriculture and the abandonment of rural areas by the young, which is becoming an irreparable, inadmissible trend affecting the future of the sustainable food systems; Keep reading…

Intervention of Christiane Costa, HIC, Brazil, on behalf of the CSM Working Group on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

A territorial approach aims at overcoming the rural-urban dichotomy, which is one of the causes of food insecurity in both rural and rural areas, and from this perspective, particular attention should be paid to the following issues:

The need to identify strategies that view the territory in a comprehensive way. Solidarity economies and Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) are significant parts of inclusive territorial food systems, and these can substantially contribute to guaranteeing socially inclusive access to fresh fruit and vegetables, which are good for our health. One case in point is the food and nutritional security system in Brazil, where local small-scale producers are actively participating in developing public policies through Food Policy Councils. Keep Reading…

CFS Plenary Session – 9/13 October 2017

20 July 2017

CFS Advisory Group and Bureau Meeting

11 July 2017

Extraordinary meeting of the OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

23 June 2017

Meeting of the OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

The OEWG will focus on: a) Presentation by the Technical Task Team members of the Background document and discussion; b) Discussion and agreement on the MYPoW proposal for this workstream; c) Discussion and agreement on the draft decision box for the Plenary Session of CFS 44.

Background documents:

16 June 2017

Informal meeting of the OEWG on Urbanisation and Rural Transformation

This informal consultation aims to start exchanging preliminary feedback both on the document and on the expected scope, objectives, outcomes and process for this workstream over the next biennium.

Webcast link http://www.fao.org/webcast/en/ 

Background Documents: 

May 2017

The OEWG Chair shared the English copy of the document “Addressing food security and nutrition in the context of changing rural-urban dynamics: experiences and effective policy approaches” (and annexes) prepared by the Technical Task Team following the global call on the FSN Forum (the language versions will be available from 2 June). The document provides a compilation of selected experiences and policy approaches that identify some key messages relating to addressing food security and nutrition in the context of changing rural-urban dynamics. Besides informing CFS actors, the document also seeks to stimulate further discussions on governance, rural-urban linkages, sustainable food systems and the role CFS might play going forward. On this note, the OEWG Chair convened an informal consultation on Friday June 16 to start exchanging preliminary feedback both on the document and on the expected scope, objectives, outcomes and process for this workstream over the next biennium.  This will allow to better prepare for the June 23 OEWG meeting and to consolidate our inputs to the MYPoW 2018-19 process.

February 2017

Call for contributions for changing urban-rural dynamics! 

3 February 2017

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation, Rural transformation and implications for FSN

Webcasting will be available at http://www.fao.org/webcast/en/ in all UN languages.

Message from the OEWG Chair Hans Hoogeveen

As per the attached agenda, the main objective of the meeting is to discuss and agree on the content of the draft call for submissions and draft submission template aimed at soliciting experiences and effective policy approaches in addressing food security and nutrition in the context of changing urban-rural dynamics. The call will be launched on the FSN Forum starting February 7th until March 15th 2017. The meeting will also provide an opportunity to discuss next steps in the process including expectations around the format and desired outcome of the OEWG meeting on 23 June. In discussing the proposed approach the Technical Task Team focused its discussions on the following key points, which you will find reflected in the attached draft call and submission template document:

– The need to keep rural-urban linkages as the primary focus for the experiences and policy approaches, with four additional thematic areas acting as additional filters;

– The importance of including social and economic equity issues (in addition to governance, sustainability and food systems) as a means to capture the vulnerable and marginalized individuals and groups dimension;

– The need to have criteria that would not only allow us to stay on topic (focus on rural-urban linkages, impact/relevance to food security and nutrition) but also to capture elements related to process, change and innovation in policy making, equity and coherence with human rights frameworks;

– The need to keep the submission template simple and relatively “open” so as to encourage a large number of submissions from a wide variety of stakeholders.

Background Documents:

 

2 of December 2016

CFS OEWG on Urbanisation, Rural transformation and implications for FSN

Background Documents:

Process 2016

CFS Technical Workshop

On 22 and 23 of February will take place the first CFS Technical Workshop on Urbanisation, Rural Transformation and implications for Food Security and Nutrition (Iran Room, FAO HQs)
Read more

Zero Draft of the Background Document

The Secretariat publishes online the Zero Draft of the Background Document
Read more

Deadline for comments to the Zero Draft

Deadline to submit CSOs comments to the Zero Draft
Read more

Draft 1 will be published

The 29th of April the CFS Secretariat will publish the new Draft, (Draft One) of the Background Document, that will be elaborated on the basis of the inputs received from the online consultation
Read more

Second Technical Workshop

On June 7 it will take place the CFS Second Technical Workshop
Read more

 

October 2016

 

8 July 2016

Meeting of the CFS Bureau and Advisory Group

 

7 June 2016

Second Technical Workshop on Urbanization, Rural Transformation and implications for food security and nutrition

Read CSM Speaking Points

Read the Outcomes

May 2016

First Draft of the Background Paper to CFS 43 Forum discussion

March/April 2016

The Zero Draft of the Background Paper to CFS 43 Forum discussion  is now available!

Read the Preliminary CSM Working Group’s Comments on the Zero draft submitted on the 6 April!

22/23 February 2016

First Technical Workshop on Urbanization, Rural Transformation and implications for food security and nutrition

A) Agenda

B) Participants List

C) Guidance Note